Riot Grasper V3C12

Volume 3 Chapter 12 – Reunion Part 1

— August, week 2, day 1. (TL: I don’t remember if this world had a different date system but this is what the MTL says and I’m rolling with it.)

It’s a been a little over a week since I started my activities in the Royal City of Horn

I had always known that there was a large arena in Horn. I’m not sure if I’ve seen it, but I’ve definitely heard of it.

This is a place that I’ve been thinking of visiting if I ever got the chance, but I never imagined that would be visiting it this way.

「Pfft. I’ll give you credit for not running away. But you’ll soon learn. IN the face of true love–」

…Well, I’m getting tired of listening to him.

In front of the arena, Garib was talking at length, but suddenly a questioning expression appeared on his face and he began to look around.

「Huh? There’s no sign of Stella.」

The only people here are me, Uran-san, and Garib-san, and a large man who wears a robe that covers his whole body.

This must be the deputy that the other side has prepared. He’s not just one size bigger than me, he’s three sizes bigger.

「Stella says that she doesn’t want to see you. Do you really think there’s any point to this match.」

「Haha. So you’re finally so afraid of me that you’ve decided to keep Stella away from me? I’d like to ask you if there’s any point in doing so.」

Uran made an adult-like statement, but the other person doesn’t seem phased at all.

He really is an unshakeable person in a way.

To be frank, he pulls it off.

…..By the way, Stella-san specified me in the adventurer’s guild and sent me a request. I’m not sure what to do, but I’m sure you’ll be able to figure it out

I immediately accepted the request and came to this place, but Stella said she didn’t want to see Garib and would meet up with Uran later.

「Do I just play with whoever is there in this arena?」

Let’s move forward with the request I’ve received – in a nutshell, ‘beat the crap out of him.’

「Hmm… you are the boy who was at the inn yesterday too.」

Mr. Garib observes first as though he’s licking us. (TL: Someone explain this expression to me. It shows up quite often and I don’t know how to translate it properly.)

Ohh no, I’m scared. I wonder if the term “groping” applies to me as well.

「You want me to fight on your behalf? It is indeed a cruel thing for a beastly man to think. Dragging a boy like this into a duel.」

「Garib. If you are also a merchant, observe your opponent a little more. It’s true that his face may be young, but the equipment he wears and the beast he rides are probably not something that an incompetent boy would be able to handle.」

The wild voice came from the robed man. I’m not sure what to make of it.

The same is true for Rook.

「….. of course. So, let’s go to the arena and have them sign up for the tournament.」

Huh?

In my mind, I thought this guy was going to rent out the arena for a duel or something, but… entry procedures?

「I’ve chosen the arena as my sacred dueling ground, but….」

Apparently, they tried to rent it but were refused. It’s such a large building, with so many spectators, that the money alone may have been too much for them.

Sure, if you enter the arena and win, you’ll probably run into your intended opponent at some point, but…

「This is ridiculous. You don’t need to do that, you can just settle this right here and now. But more importantly, Garib. Do you have any new information on that case yet?」

「Oh, Belga-san. Please don’t be so hasty. Just wait a little longer and I’m sure you’ll get a clue.」

「I don’t know. I think this is that last time you’ll have to deal with this kind of play.」

Hmm, it seems that this Belga guy is not just a hired hand. It is clear from his attitude towards Garib.

But that’s a very disturbing thing to say. It’s a bit of a hassle to fight in the arena, but it’s reckless to engage in combat in a city like this.

「If you fight in a place like this, you’ll cause damage to those around you, won’t you?」

「Well…. that’s fine. It would be a shame if you were to lose before facing me.」

The man stopped in his tracks as he was about to take a step towards us, said as much as he wanted to, and headed towards the interior of the arena.

I wanted to return those words verbatim, but I felt like if I said them out loud, a battle would really break out in the city, so I kept them to myself.

I’ve never fought in front of a crowd before, and it would be foolish to expect me not to be nervous.

But I don’t want to lose.

If we lose, Uran won’t be able to get close to Stella in the future…. but even if he does, there’s no probably because Stella is likely to approach him herself.

Huh?

I can lose this one, can’t I?

I dismissed these thoughts and quietly made my way down the corridor towards the players’ waiting room. I wondered how strong his Belga guy was.

I’d like to explore his skill set, but I can’t stand the fact that your robe hides your face.

As I entered the room with these thoughts, a muffled breeze caressed my cheeks.

Inside the room, strong-looking men continued to produce hot and humid air.

Not that there are no female figures, but most of them are men.

I’d like you to stop leaking steamy air through the gaps in your armor and helmet.

However, it was not as if there was a bleak atmosphere in the air.

The biggest reason for this was the fact that fighting in an arena is basically based on the rule of not killing your opponent. It’s a space packed with fighters, but they’re not killing each other, so it’s filled with the kind of tense feeling you get before a sports match.

…..Hmm.

The waiting room is quite spacious, it even has a first aid area to treat the injured.

As expected, they don’t serve alcohol, but they do seem to have an environment where you can have a light meal. I was told at the reception desk that you can get fight money if you beat your opponent, which is probably a healthy business if you’re trying to make money by having the crowd enjoy your fights.

I was looking around like that, tilting my drink glass to relieve my tension.

–Then, I suddenly found a place that caught my attention.

Apart from the passage leading from the antechamber to the arena, there is a dark area in the back that seems to be a passage.

There seems to be something going on, but the soldiers who seem to be guards are blocking the way.

「Is there anything going on back there?」

When I approached the arena staff who were serving us our meals, I guess they thought I had nothing to hide, he replied immediately.

「Oh, there’s a jail back there where they keep the prisoners. If there are not enough participants, the prisoners will be allowed to compete. I don’t think anything dangerous is going to happen, but that’s why the soldiers are watching.」

Oh, wow. I see.

I wonder, I wonder if the prisoner’s sentences are shortened by fighting here.

If you possess combat skills, I’m not going to take away your skills without question just because your position is that of a prisoner, but I can’t deny that I’d like to take a peek.

As I approach the soldier on guard and stretch out my neck to look deeper, the soldier calls out to me a suspicious look on his face.

「How can I help you, sir? There’s only a prison cell in the back here. If you want to talk to the prisoners, I won’t stop you, but you can talk to them through the cells.」

「Oh, no. That’s not necessary.」

I don’t have a hobby of talking to prisoners, so I thought I should just concentrate on the game and turn on my heel.

「Haha…… how long are you going to stay here and make a spectacle of yourself~」

「Shut up. You’re the one who said you’d do whatever it takes, so here we are.」

「Yeah, if I hadn’t said that, you’d be here now.」

I wonder if it’s… I’ve heard this voice before. And this interrupting, fast-paced exchanged is vaguely familiar.

No, but no way.

「Um, can I go to the back, just for a minute.」

When I discreetly told the soldier on guard, he remained silent and stepped aside.

–A dark corridor led to the back, but there were a number of small rooms with iron bars fitted into the walls. This is where the prisoners are kept.

We were able to quickly find the owners of the voices we heard earlier, as they were tied up in a cell very close to us.

「…..Geez! I didn’t see it. I didn’t see anything.」

「Wow, that sucks. I don’t know how I’m supposed to react when I see the face I least want to see.」

…..The second person’s words were a bit hurtful, but I guess it was these two.

I wonder why they’re here?

I did hear that they were brought to the capital though.

「What? Did you really come to the jail to bring me sugar candy? I’m sorry, but I would have been happier if you hadn’t shown your face.」

A greeting that can only be described as harsh.

It almost broke my heart.

He is an opponent who would be victorious in battle but would never be able to win in a verbal fight.

「I’m sorry, but I don’t have any sugar candy with me at the moment.」

The woman exhaled disinterestedly at my reply.

「Of course you’re joking. Stupid.」

Oh, really. I’m going to cry.

A woman swearing in her cell and a man refusing to make eye contact with us.

I’m mildly surprised right now.

I hadn’t expected to be reunited with the criminals from Merveille, especially in this way.


Leave a Comment