Riot Grasper V3C11

Volume 3 Chapter 11 – Weirdness and Eccentricity are Charming

TL: I have checked that title translation with 3 different translators. It is certainly correct.

「–Are you serious about that?」

Magdalena, who would have known what was going on, asked back slowly as if to confirm Uran’s intentions.

Seeing Uran nodding in agreement, the proprietress let out a breath and turned her gaze to me.

「Uhh… Uran, may I speak first?」

When I asked him if he could explain the situation to me, he gave a small nod of his head.

–To summarize what was said from Magdalena’s mouth, it goes like this.

Stella, who is usually popular as the inn’s signature girl, has many men courting her.

However, since it also serves as a bar, most people joke about being in love with each other when they are drunk, and Stella has been successfully fulfilling her role as a sign girl with a smile.

I already knew that.

The other day, Mr. Uran said, “Why don’t you go out for a drink with your customers once in a while?”

The problem starts with a man that actually attacked Stella-san, and not as a joke.

Perhaps intrigued by the restaurant’s reputation for delicious food, a man calling himself a wealthy merchant visited Bellyful Flavors, and although he was quiet at first, he suddenly stood up when he caught sight of Stella san and asked her to be his girlfriend.

Stella, who was accustomed to such situations, tried to play it off brilliantly as usual, but apparently, she failed.

— What kind of person is this?

Did she find it hard to say no to a serious approach?

Anyway, she was puzzled by the big merchant’s application, but when Uran-san came out of the kitchen to see what was going on, she hid behind him as if she was saved.

Seeing the scene, the man misunderstood many things (I don’t think it was much of a misunderstanding) and asked Uran what their relationship was.

If had been able to lie and say that they were lovers and that there was no room in their relationship for him, it would have true a long time ago.

If that were the case, I would have given them both an honest congratulations, but unfortunately, Uran is clumsy in the truest sense of the word.

『Please do not disturb other customers』

He said just that, and tried to return to the kitchen.

It seems that the man who was still misunderstanding got more and more heated by such calm words, and lashed out quite a bit at Uran-sasn.

『I’m just a hired cook, after all.』

and so on…

『Such a beautiful woman is not worthy.』

and so on…

Still, Uran-san said that he didn’t say anything back and kept quiet.

The man who had been so excited by Uran-san’s response for a while suddenly made a strange noise and left the store.

On the other hand, Stella seemed to be upset with the man’s outburst and asked Uran somewhat excitedly, “Why didn’t you say anything back?”

「Well, since they’re just making a fuss over a misunderstanding in the first place, there’s no need to deal with them. And if Stella wants to live a rich life, a man like that isn’t a bad idea.」

「So you’ve just said….」

While serving a drunken customer, Uran-san interrupts me with a few words, and I give him my gavel.

An affluent life where money is no object is certainly what the average woman wants, and perhaps she was joking about it in front of Uran.

That said, I don’t think that was the right time to say it.

Of course, I don’t think Uran said those words from his heart, but he was a little frustrated with himself and took his feelings out on Stella.

You’re still young. Not that I can tell you that though.

Now it’s easy to imagine what Stella would have done in response to such a statement, given that’s not here right now.

She has an advanced technique of getting angry while smiling, but she has finally reached the next stage of getting angry while crying. In addition to this, there are a lot of other things that you can do to make your life easier.

I had no idea that while I was swinging my sword and working on my training, such a drama was unfolding.

However, how did this process lead to Uran’s statement about quitting the restaurant?

「I was planning to open my own store someday anyway. The merchant’s words may have been a good start.」

…So that’s how it is.

Uran was calmly letting the man’s rant go, but he may have been soberly hurt by being called a hired cook. I guess it’s called male pride.

It seems a bit short-sighted, but it makes sense to me since I’ve heard for a while that he’s training to own his own restaurant.

Still… it doesn’t look like there is anything that I can do about this.

As for Uran and Stella, it’s safe to say that it’s an extension of their lovers’ quarrel because I can easily see them making up in the near future.

And if Mr. Uran is serious about opening a store, we’re not going to stop him either.

All I really did was listen, but it looks like I’m out of luck.

Just as I was thinking this, I heard the sound of someone pushing open the front door of the inn.

I turned my gaze to see Stella, her eyes slightly swollen.

Normally, she wears her peach-colored hair in a bun and an apron, but it’s quite rare to see her in normal clothes with her hair down.

Umm… no wonder she’s popular as a sign girl.

「Umm… ma’am. I’m sorry for asking for so much today.」

First, Stella-san earnestly apologized to Magdalena-san.

「Looks like things are settling down on your end.」

「Am I at…. What’s going on?」

Stella looked at Uran a little awkwardly, but her face clouded over again when she heard about the situation from Magdalena.

「Is it… my fault.」

「No, that was my intention originally. It’s nothing for Stella to worry about.」

「But…」

Well, well.

「But well, you know what? If the store does well…」

「……what?」

Stella gave a questioning look after hearing those words.

You seem to be having a hard time saying it, but what on earth is Uran trying to say, and don’t say anything that will drop any more bombs…

「–If it all goes well… I’d be…. I’d be happy to have Stella work in my store.」

……What? Huh?

No way…

What Uran jokingly mentioned a while ago was… a flag?

And at this time, huh?

A strong man is scratching his head in embarrassment, waiting for the girl to answer.

 Damn… if I were a woman, I’d be totally swooned.

Without needing to check again, Stella’s cheeks were redder than her peach-colored hair, and she seemed slightly puzzled to reply, but after a while, she showed a small nodding gesture.

….Yeah, I thought I shouldn’t have dropped the bomb earlier, but I guess I was wrong.

They can explode.

I mean, I expected them to make up in the near future, but I guess I was sooner.

Let’s give it some more time! …. No, I don’t mind.

I don’t know. I don’t know why I’m starting to feel a little empty. I think I’m going to cry.

「…..What is it? Are you saying that you’re both going to quit here after all? That’s really annoying.」

Magdalena opened her arms and addressed them with a dumbfounded gesture, but her expression remained kind.

What a happy ending.

….. I don’t think I’m forgetting anyone, but I guess that’s a wrap.

I’m tired, and I want to go to sleep today.

Then, as i was about to leave, biting down on a sore throat–

「Wait a minute!」

The sound of the door being strongly opened and the man’s loud voice echoed in my eardrums.


I think overly flamboyant is a very good way to describe it.

If you are in an important business meeting and you are wearing shabby clothes, you may lose your credibility. I ti is necessary to keep yourself clean to a certain extent. In addition, if you are a merchant, wearing gorgeous clothes will show that you are doing well, which will have a positive impact on your business negotiations.

But I don’t think anything should be too much.

The merchant-looking man in my line of vision was wearing a very flamboyantly overstuffed garment, and he was sniffling and looking… at me, or rather, at Stella-san.

Perhaps this man is the self-proclaimed great merchant mentioned earlier.

I don’t know what they were doing there, but I don’t think there’s any more room between Uran and Stella.

Sadly, this is the reality.

「Stella! If there is an obstacle in front of our love, it is the duty of a man to do everything in his power to remove it. You’re being threatened, aren’t you! By that man!」

The man pointed his finger at Uran-san with the vigor of fighting head-on with the words, “Don’t point your finger at others,” said so confidently.

「It’s obvious that it’s extremely difficult for a weak woman to resist when pressed by such a terrifying face! Do you think I can’t see the fact you forced me to go out with you like that?」

….. Umm, I need a minute.

You’re missing the point.

「But don’t worry, I have found a suitable way to save you from the hands of the beast. Now, you don’t have to worry about anything else. Just jump into my chest dear!」

「Um…. as I said before, I have no intention of dating you, okay?」

「I will admit that you are the cutest when you are shy. But the wall that separates our love is now so thin and fragile that it will melt away with my love for you.」

The expression on the man’s face is ecstatic, as if he is drunk with himself, as he spins his words in such a unique way as to almost make a real-life onomatopoeic, “Bish!” (TL: Translating this was a fun one. Who has ever described something like this.)

Ah, I see.

Got it.

This is a seriously bad idea.

Stella said that she failed to catch and flush it due to the fierce attack, but if she flushed such a thing, it would clog the toilet. (TL: GOD what a metaphor.)

He is a man who keeps talking without listening to others, but Stella didn’t lose and inserted her words.

「But this is the first time I’ve met you, isn’t it? If you think about it, I don’t even know your name or age.」

「This is rude. It is indeed strange that a woman who will be your future wife does not even know her husband’s name. My name is Garib Al-Atwal. I am twenty-eight years old. Don’t you think that the receptiveness of an older woman is one of her charms?」

「You’re eight years older than me. By the way, I don’t think age has anything to do with receptiveness.」

「I see! So you’re saying that age difference has nothing to do with love. I think so too.」

Wow, that’s amazing.

The ability to be positive in every way, but also the ability to convert what others are saying to twist it to suit you.

This guy is… serious.

「Come on! Let’s free you from that beast and create a paradise of love between us now!」

As expected, Stella-san’s expression of disgust is about to leak out, but she managed to continue to conversation.

「Um, what exactly do you mean by unleashing?」

「A duel, of course. There is an arena in the capital, isn’t there? it is an ancient and unchanging reason to throw oneself into battle to protect one’s beloved.」

「Pardon me. Garib-san, but you don’t seem to be very good at fighting…」

Stella is right. Garib is of medium build and certainly doesn’t seem to excel in combat. I don’t think he’ll possess any combat skills if I look at him with the Thief’s God Eye.

Hmm… My eyes are a little hazy, probably because I’m already tired and getting sleepy, I can’t wait to go to bed.

「The ability to provide a strong person to take your place is the result of exceptional wealth and popularity. That is, it is synonymous with strength.」

「Ha, ha!」

Let’s see, so you’re saying that since you’re going to enter a substitute player if that guy wins, it’s just like you won.

As expected, Uran-san was not quiet about this.

「A duel, again, that’s not very peaceful. I think it’s up to Stella to decide for herself what she wants to do, and I’m going to very busy, so I’ll refrain from doing that.」

「That’s right. I’ve decided to work at the new store Uran is opening. It’s a little… to be told that out of the blue.」

Oh, oh.

If I were in Garib-san’s position, I would be heartbroken by what just happened.

「I see. So you’re saying that you’re going to be forcibly taken to a new store run by the man there and made to work there. Don’t worry, I will never let that happen. I will use all of my financial resources to stop them.」

So this is what…. it’s really like this.

Come back, Kuroko.

Here’s a real one.

「Hey… what are you talking about.」

Uran replied in a somewhat angry voice.

「Hahaha. If that bothers you, then you can accept my challenge maturely. If I win, you have to promise never to approach Stella-san again in the future.」

I was expecting him to start talking about going out with Stella-san if he wins, but he is surprisingly conscientious.

Does he really think that Stella will jump into his chest once Uran-san is gone?

It’s scary.

「Of course, you’re free to get a substitute player, too. Well, I’m talking about… if you have a skilled person nearby. I’ll hear back from you tomorrow in front of the arena. I’ll remind you that everything is powerless before love.」

Having said all he had to say, Garib-san left the inn in high spirits.

–A moment of silence.

Uran was indeed tired, and sat down on a chair in the cafeteria.

「What, what? That guy is….」

He’s a weirdo.

Or so I’d like to say, but they’re actually in a bit of trouble.

If they don’t accept the challenge, there is a good chance that he will viciously sabotage Uran-san’s attempt to open up a store.

However, it is unlikely that a peaceful cook would conveniently have someone close by who could act as a proxy for a duel.

And the due date is tomorrow.

「Huh!」

Suddenly, it was Stella who grabbed my hand, wrapping it in her palm. Her wavy hair swayed softly, and a faintly sweet scene caressed my nostrils.

「–Seiji-san, I have a request.」

I can honestly say that I immediately understand what that serious look in her eyes is trying to say.

A terrific adventurer with an expensive cavalry beast in two.

Such a person is standing right in front of her.

「……Please beat him up!」

Those are not the kind of words you expect a sign girl to say, but you never know.

If I were to accept this request, how about an all-you-can-eat full course meal at Uran’s restaurant as a reward?

That’ll motivate us.


TL Note:

I was expecting this to go down the kidnapping rescue path not the duel path, but now that I think about it we’ve already had a kidnapping rescue situation so it makes sense that it wouldn’t go that way. How and why the author chose to develop the plot this way is beyond me though.


1 Comment

  1. Lehur says:

    Thx, for translating this pretty classic novel, thx a lot, Trae

    Like

Leave a Comment